November 19 2023

19.11.2023 05:44

Well thank you for joining me for my very first homeless daily update post! On these posts you can catch what Lisa and I are up to on any given day. This way you can understand the difficulties that we go through on any given day and also get an inside look on how we manage to survive!

Sunday - November 19th, 2023

Today I (Andrew) woke up with a deep sadness in my heart. I stayed up late in the tent, streaming the Nebraska Cornhusker football game on my Macbook, using the mobile hot spot. While it was a close and exciting game, the Huskers lost another heartbreaker at Wisconsin in overtime, 24-17. It may have been our last best shot at getting into a bowl game, but we still have a chance on Friday when we play host to the Iowa Hawkeyes (yuck).

The game started out so exciting with Chubba Purdy breaking lose for a long touchdown run, the defense stifling Wisconsin, and then Chubba throwing for a long touchdown, putting the Huskers up 14-0 very quickly. I thought that this might be the night it all comes together and we finally end our drought against the Badgers and our bowl game drought… sadly, I was mistaken as all of these exciting developments slowly fell apart as the evening went on.

I almost had a hard time staying awake as Lisa and I had just purchased a new inflatable mattress that we both are in love with. We had previously been sleeping on the floor of our 12-foot wide tent on little rollout, inflatable mat thingies that hurt your back and make you cold. It was also a cold night, so I was snuggled inside our sleeping bags with Lisa as she slept soundly through all the football excitement.

The game fell apart as each second ticked off the game clock, but I was proud of the effort put forth by the boys, even though they once again broke my heart.

Once I got over that disappointment - which was sometime after going over to the Home 2 Suites to grab their continental breakfast so we could start our day right - we walked over to Walmart to scope out the Buddy Heater that we want to get once we can afford it in our very tight budget. It is going to be necessary as the nights are going to start dropping below 40 degrees regularly, combined with the North Carolina humidity to make the evenings unbearably cold. (Feel free to donate to our CashApp $lisaweisbeck4 to help us get our Buddy Heater!)

After we spent some time at Walmart and walking around, we went and did the most dreaded activity of the day - panhandling. I didn’t have any work today, so we both grabbed white cardboard signs and scribbled our panhandling messages on them and made our way out to the median to beg for money. We absolutely hate doing this, but it is necessary for us to eat and survive, so we take part in this activity that so many people despise and hate homeless people for partaking in.

We made enough money to get some food from the hot table at Walmart and purchase some clean underwear and socks. I won’t share why that is so necessary, but you often have to just buy new pairs after you wear them for enough days in a row. Who said being homeless is always pretty?

Well, we ended the night off in a pretty cool way I’d say. We went over to Starbucks and I wrote my first post for my Homeless Hacker Substack Publication and shared it with the world for everyone to read! Starbucks closed early, so we headed over to our local sandwich shop, Jason’s Deli and enjoyed our desert of soft served Vanilla Ice Cream for a lovely price of $2.12 - all you can eat!

We are wrapping up our evening at around 8:22 PM Eastern time while watching some NFL football, charging the cell phone, and I am working on my Homeless Hacker publications. I will share the links to my YouTube, Substack, Medium, and other social media accounts below so you can follow along with all of the fun!

That’s about it for this edition of the daily post - I hope you enjoyed reading and continue to check in on all our latest adventures. Adios!

Homeless Hacker Substack Homeless Hacker Medium Blog Homeless Hacker YouTube Channel Homeless Hacker Twitch Channel Homeless Hacker Mastodon Account

More content to come on these sites and publications soon!

© 2023 Homeless Hacker

Built with Astro

The Homeless Hacker Andrew Weisbeck

Homeless Hacker

Journey with Andrew and Lisa through homelessness, love, and tech.