Welcome to the Homeless Hacker

19.11.2023 00:00

If you are reading this, you are either intrigued with the name of my publication, came from one of my family members or friends sharing my blog site, or have luckily stumbled across one of the more obscure tech publications you will ever read. Whatever the reason may be, I am glad you are here! You are in for a treat.

Meet Andrew, the Homeless Hacker

My name is Andrew Weisbeck and I call myself the ‘Homeless Hacker’. That is because I am an experienced full stack web developer, hacker, tech junkie, and have also been struggling with homelessness for the last 11 months of my life with my devoted and loving fiancé, Lisa. You might find it odd that somebody who has been programming for the better part of the last three years is homeless, but we have had a very bumpy road that has led us here.

I’ll share more on the details about the homelessness deal, but the main thing you should know is that I have struggled finding employment in the tech world and life came at us fast with the pandemic, Lisa’s old work, and the cruel nature of rental management agencies. We have spent nights hungry, freezing, hot, and depressed - I even spent a week in the hospital after nearly dying from heat exhaustion. I wouldn’t recommend homelessness to anybody as it is a rough way to learn about hitting rock bottom in life.

However, I don’t think either of us would change our experience over the last 11 months of our lives for anything. It has humbled us and helped us to understand what is most important to both of us. It has strengthened our relationship and love for one another and taught us to appreciate the tiniest joys in life; things such as eating cold Chick-fil-A found on the ground, or sleeping on an air mattress after sleeping on the hard ground for two months.

It’s really hard sometimes when you are panhandling to survive and people are calling you a bum and telling you to get a job, even though you apply everywhere you can to the businesses you live by but nobody will hire you because you are homeless. At times it feels completely hopeless and desolate - luckily we have each other to lean on and do so every moment we need to, which is most every day. You really learn about the true nature of people when you have nothing and see people that have everything, yet are so unhappy and cruel - that is not everyone we meet, but you would be surprised at how many unhappy people we run into who have everything you could ever ask for.

Ok, enough about my personal life and homelessness. Let me tell you a bit more about this publication and why you should read it!

What is the Homeless Hacker and why should you read it?

Well the Homeless Hacker is my publication that I am going to try to start pushing out at least a few times a week, if not more. It all depends on what each day throws at me on the streets, but I want to keep people immersed in what is going on out here while also sharing my exceptional tech knowledge that I believe can help you whether you are trying to become a developer or just want to learn something about the internet.

I will try to keep it somewhat digestible for the non-programmers as I know there is an audience of mine that wants to read this without all the technical jargon. So to keep with that goal, I will start out by sharing some brief updates about my life, but intertwine it with broader tech news that anyone can find interesting. I will then dive deeper into the heady technical stuff further on down in the publication for the more technical minded people to read and enjoy. Hopefully there are some things you will find interesting enough that you can help my cause while I help your cause out as well.

Does that make sense? Probably not, but I will go ahead and take a shot at writing this and see what sticks and adjust it to fit what y’all like. Sound fair? Fair enough.

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you enjoy future articles!

That is about all I have to share for a brief introduction - there is so much more I’d like to get into, but I think it’d take away from the excitement of sharing the fun parts of my story and new exciting internet things I have to share. You should subscribe to this publication - even if it’s for the free version which may be the only one you can until I figure out my bank account stuff with Stripe. (It’s hard getting bank accounts when homeless).

Subscribe and check in with each publication and let me know what you think in the comments section. Thanks for checking me out and I hope you enjoy this publication!

© 2023 Homeless Hacker

Built with Astro

The Homeless Hacker Andrew Weisbeck

Homeless Hacker

Journey with Andrew and Lisa through homelessness, love, and tech.